My Wardrobe

I’ve mentioned before that I have way too many clothes, scarves and accessories. I wasn’t sure where to start in de-cluttering. I didn’t want to just get rid of everything and have nothing left, I didn’t want to be too rash and get rid of things that I’d later regret but I definitely needed to start somewhere – also, as I cant really fit into my cloths now that I am four months pregnant, it seems like a good time to do it.

So I turned to Google. To start with I couldn’t really find anything helpful or relevant to me. My main issue was that I’m never happy with what I had and constantly shopped for the perfect piece to finish my wardrobe. I finally came across a blog and one little tip was to look at the outfits you’ve pinned on pintrest to get idea of what you liked. That seemed like a really good idea as I do have outfits pinned on pintrest. I was really shocked with what I saw.

The first reason was because there was a definite trend. In fact the they were all basically the same kind of outfits. For winter it was blue jeans – skinny and regular, with boots or sandals, all with white and shirts: some plain, some fancier, with fitted coats and jumpers and over sized totes. For summer it was generally long skirts with sses demin jackets or fitted pinafore’.

The second reason I was shocked was because I own basically nothing that was repeated. Not even a white shirt, no demon jacket, no boots, no pinafore dresses.

My aim – long term is a 30 piece clothing wardrobe. Because I’m four months pregnant, I won’t be adding piece until after the birth of the baby. I’ve began removing clothes and one thing I’ve found is a lot of the stuff I don’t wear has really lovely fabric. I obviously bought them because I feel in love with the material but didn’t like the style, the fit or the colors washed me out. Instead of donating those pieces, I’ve put them in a basket and I intend to sew with the material. 1. So I don’t just throw out fabric I love and 2. Because fabric is soooo expensive so this saves money in that regard.

I’ll keep you updated 🙂

Standard

Leave a comment